5′ by 6′ Salt Marsh Serves as Classroom Focal Point

Mini Salt Marsh of Room 412

Mini Salt Marsh of Room 412

When the students return from spring break, this mini salt marsh is what they will find in the classroom. The materials were collected, with permission, locally. The mini salt marsh  is a fantastic jump-off point for the class’s study of both ecosystems and land & water. From my past experience with pond-like water features in the classroom, this will last up to eleven school days.

The topic of my last post on “Academic Respect” gives me reason to believe that the students will be able to focus together on the science of the mini marsh, and not simply play around.

As I was collecting material, I know there are a variety of life working together in this small 5 foot by six foot space. Watch for future posts on how to put this feature together in the classroom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *