Open House: An Important Night at an Important Place

Hello everybody. To get this blog going I would like to share about open house. Most of the seventy-plus fifth grade students, parents, and extended family members stopped by Carolina Beach Elementary School Thursday afternoon to see their new school rooms and teachers. Smiles and pleasant greetings were shared throughout the two-hour event. In my classroom, I asked the families to participate in the bulletin board activity in place. I handed each a slip of paper and asked then to complete the sentence:

“This classroom/ This school is an important place because… ”

Below are the responses I received. We will use these ideas beginning the first week of school as we build a community together. Here they are. What do you think? Add a comment at the bottom of the page.

This classroom/ This school is an important place because:

>school is fun and fundamental. (Parent)

>it is the start of many things. You will need the things you learn here to be successful in middle school/ high school. Plus it is great fun!! (Supporter)

>we love Carolina Beach School. (Parent)

>I get to help students learn to be good mathematicians and I hope they learn to be better citizens in my class. (Teacher)

>It has a cool design and good teachers. (Student)

>all these children come for an education and this is where it starts. One step closer to the job/ career of you dreams.(Big Sister)

>education- quality education – is important for my children as well as social adaptation.(Parent)

>the classroom allows a child to grow and learn. (Parent)

>it builds a base for future work and 5th grade is important because they are starting to look outside their own scope to begin choosing their future. (Parent)

>it gives us the background for future education. (Parent)

>beautiful children that will one day shape the future of this amazing island come here hungry to learn each day. (Teacher)

>I have an opportunity to learn about healthy choices and be physically active enhancing the quality of my life. (Teacher)

>it offers people the opportunity to explore the world in the company of their peers and friends and with the guidance of their teachers as well as the whole community. I hope all enjoy the adventure. (Parent)

>true opportunity begins with learning new things. (Parent)

>you learn and study. (Sibling)

>it teaches my child to become a responsible citizen of the world! (Parent)

>(it) allows for children to be themselves with a bit of “free-spirit” in the unconventional and beautiful environment- All outdoors/ indoors should be utilized in the learning / growing process. (Parent/ participant)

>it offers a safe and fun way to learn. (Parent)

>(it) is here to learn everything he can to prepare him for the future. (Parent)

>I think this classroom important because it helps knowledge. (student)

>it is where I learn how to become a more useful and productive part of my world. (Teacher)

>it prepares us for the future. (Teacher)

>it will provide a nurturing environment for my child to learn and grow through the year. (Parent)

>the teachers are AWESOME! and this school has been here a very long time. (Student)

>I can learn a lot of things in this classroom. (Student)

One thought on “Open House: An Important Night at an Important Place

  1. The comments were interesting. The classroom and school are important. I enjoyed reading how different people defined that importance for themselves. Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *